top of page

BLOG

Why I never stay permanently at one location or with a dive centre ?

SEP 29, 2022

A glimps of my resume will show you that I have worked with many dive centres and at many locations in a span of 7 years as a dive instructor.


It is undeniable that choosing this profession after more than a decade working in the white collar world is to be able to live in a different lifestyle. Being able to travel to different places, experience different cultures and so on.


There are various reasons to why I kept moving and here are the reasons...


1. Seasonal

Many dive locations have "diving season". Which means you can only dive for a certain period of time in a year. During "non-diving" season, SCUBA instructors will either rest or go to other locations for work. I managed to complete diving seasons at some locations before moving on to the other and I have never work for the same company the following season.


2. Work permit

If you are not a resident or a nationality of a country, you need work permit to work legally in that country. Personally, I am not comfortable working illegally in a foreign country. I was "promised" a work permit by 3 establishments (3 different dive centres and locations) when I joined the company. The work permit never arrive and I left after a short period of working for them.


3. Income

I had to leave certain location/company because the income I was promised/expecting was insufficient or unsustainable. I am not a young and cool backpacker who is travelling the world with parents' money. (as an example). I am on my own. Although I dont expect to be rich in this industry, I still need to pay for my yearly instructor fees, insurance, equipment maintenance, food, etc. Do the dive business owners care about your tiny commitments? Most dont, believe me.


4. Ethical/safety

The way some companies operate will shame the industry. There is no need to hide about such issue. Many dive centres know what I am talking about. Happens in all industries. Do not misunderstood. I am far from perfect myself. Everyone has a set of values including me. I will not tolerate serious safety/ethical dive operation issues. It is best to move on.


5. Human/politics

We all know that not everyone we meet will like us or we may not be able to please everyone.

From my personal experiences, most of the times , business owners are generally the "kindest/nicest" people. It is the staffs that is challenging to deal with..."generally". Work place politics are inevitable. If its to much to handle, I move on.


6. My own problem

No one is perfect. I am not perfect. I have weaknesses and continuously improving myself.

In order not to create problem to a workplace, I sometimes admit my own problem and retrieve. It is best for both parties.


Have I regretted from moving places. No. Frustrated. Maybe.

Every job/location gave me invaluable experiences. Different experiences.

I have learned different styles of operations. I experienced different cultures and met different kinds of people.


I like/often to use the phrase " waiting for the wind to blow again ". The wind is "me".

47 views
bottom of page