top of page

BLOG

"different shapes, sizes and colours"

MAY 23, 2018



In between jobs now. Just completed an employment contract with a small dive centre in Phuket, Thailand. I did not extend the contract although I have no problem to do so. I have decided since the beginning of the contract but kept going, hoping that they will compensate me according to the contract which they didn't at the end of contract term. Being the only full-time instructor for the company, I worked so hard for them. I was so hurt when I left the company. But life goes on.


Anyway...

Since I have some free time, I tried to clean up both my mobile phone and laptop's disk space because it's nearing full.

So there I came across photos of my students which I took for online certification processing. They are of different shapes, sizes and colours. I was referring to my students. Pondering back, I had quite an experience with all of them. Everyone is different. Different in level of learning, different in the way they communicate.

I have to be honest that I had some tough times with some of them. Sometimes, I had to push them a little in order to meet the requirements and to become a "reasonably" capable diver in a short period of 3 to 4 days. Sometimes, I had to be a little strict to get them to behave like what a competent diver should behave. Most of them understood. I did fail some students. I am not a "100% guaranteed pass" instructor. It was not the best feeling for an instructor like me, believe me. If I think they will get hurt doing scuba diving, I will not hesitate to not certify them.

The above student photos are just some of my many more students whom I met in my SCUBA diving career. I am happy to be able to cross my path with all of them and I am proud seeing all of them becoming a competent SCUBA diver.

And now, back to looking for a new job...

71 views
bottom of page